Close Menu

The University College Bylaws were developed by the university-wide Tufts Faculty Senate, in partnership with Vice Provost Kevin Dunn. They were approved by the Faculty Senate on October 10, 2018, amended by the Trustees of Tufts University in May 2020 and again in February of 2022.

Article I - Composition of the Faculty

The voting Faculty of University College (hereafter referred to as “the Faculty”) shall consist of the President, the Provost, the Dean of University College, the Associate Dean of University College, the President of the Faculty Senate or designee, those faculty members elected by the faculties of the schools and colleges of Tufts University for appointment by the Provost, and those faculty members appointed by the Provost as articulated below.  All voting faculty shall have only secondary appointments in University College and must hold full-time primary appointments in one of the schools of Tufts University.  The Faculty of University College is its governing body; teaching within the programs of University College is not restricted to members of the Faculty.

Each school eligible to select members to University College, in accordance with its rules on faculty status and voting procedures, shall select a slate of nominees to the University College Faculty by a vote of its faculty.  The Dean of University College shall forward that slate to the Provost for approval.  The Faculty of University College shall consist of up to two (2) selected faculty representatives from each of the following schools of the University: the Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine, the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, the Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy, the School of Dental Medicine, the School of Engineering, and the School of Medicine. The School of Arts & Sciences shall select up to three (3) faculty representatives for approval by the Provost, one of whom should come from the School of the Museum of Fine Arts.  The faculties of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and of the Tisch College of Civic Life shall each select one (1) faculty member for approval by the Provost.  The Dean of University College may also recommend up to five (5) additional faculty members to the Provost for appointment.  The Faculty shall thus be composed of up to twenty-seven (27) members.  Upon the establishment of this Faculty, the initial appointment for members shall be for one year.  The subsequent term lengths, term limits, and other conditions of service not set forth in these bylaws shall be determined by the Faculty of University College. 

Article II - Functions of the Faculty

It shall be the function of this Faculty to advise the Dean on all questions of educational policy, including admission of students to University College; to approve programs and recommend those programs to the Dean; to review existing programs; to approve candidates for degrees as authorized by the Trustees; and to advise the Provost on the appointment of a Dean of the College.  The Faculty of University College shall create additional standing and ad hoc committees as needed and receive and act upon all reports of its committees.  The administration of the degree-bearing programs within University College shall be managed by the directors and faculty of those programs. Those programs shall propose degree candidates for approval by the Faculty of University College.

Article III - Officers of the Faculty

The officers of the Faculty shall be the Dean of University College, appointed by the Trustees, and a Secretary, or co-Secretaries, selected annually by the Faculty.

Article IV - Standing Committees

Section 1. The Standing Committees of this Faculty shall be:

 (a) A Non-Degree Programs Committee, which shall establish and oversee policies that are concerned with the operation and development of the non-degree programs in University College. The Committee shall review non-degree programs at the direction of the Dean.  The Committee shall consist of at least five members of the Faculty, including the Dean of University College.

(b) A University-Wide Degree Programs Committee, which shall receive and approve proposals for new degree programs, or changes therein; periodically evaluate existing programs; and recommending to the Faculty additions, modifications, or deletions in programs. The Committee shall consist of at least one member of the faculty from each of the Tufts University schools and colleges, two students enrolled in degree-bearing programs of University College, and the Dean of University College.

Section 2.  The membership of all standing committees shall be selected by the Faculty. Committees shall appoint from the faculty of Tufts University ex officio, non-voting members when additional expertise is needed to evaluate proposed programs. Each standing committee shall report to the Faculty in writing at least annually.

Article V - Meetings of the Faculty

The regular meetings of the Faculty shall be held at least four times yearly. Special meetings may be called at any time by the President, the Provost or the Dean of the College.

Article VI - Voting

A simple majority of voting members shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.  In accordance with rules adopted by the Faculty, members may participate in meetings and vote on motions by video teleconferencing facilities or other approved methods of telecommunication. 

Article VII - Presiding Officers

In the absence of the President, the Provost, the Dean of the College, the Associate Dean, or the Secretary/ co-Secretaries, shall preside over meetings of the Faculty, in that order.

Article VIII - Process for the Modifying the Bylaws

Provisions of the bylaws concerning membership, powers, duties and voting rights and the participation of students on faculty committees shall be subject to the approval of the Board of Trustees.  Amendments to other Articles, not inconsistent with the Bylaws or regulations of the Trustees, may be made by a two-thirds majority of those voting at any stated meeting or properly called special meeting of the Faculty, one month's previous notice of the proposed amendments having been given in writing.